‘The Drivers Seat’

My baby cousin just finished up college. He’s got some free time before he wants to think about and apply to graduate school. Responding to what he’ll spend the next year doing he told me that that he’s just going to take things as they come. I asked what he dreams of doing. He replied there are things I wants to do and I know it’s going to happen just as a result of living. I’ve got no qualms with that.

It’s like Lego–all the pieces we stack and how we stack them make up what the game looks like later. Yes, the pieces will certainly fall regardless of us, but we can also pick the pieces to use, choose how to place them, and where they land.

I think the later is being in the drivers seat. That allows the most efficacy in the game. Winning/losing aside, a significant part of the future of the game is on us. We can do what we want. We can make what we want.

I’m reminded of the last lines of William Ernest Henley’s If 

It matters not how strait the gate,
      How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate,
      I am the captain of my soul.
I wonder if taking life as it comes is taking ourselves out of the drivers seat. Maybe wanting to be in the drivers seat all the time is too alpha. What of our role-models? How did they live—how do you live?
What do you think?
What do you think? Leave your thoughts

