Forbes was just collecting nominations for its 30 under 30. I was sharing the nomination link with friends whom I thought deserved it. After some sharing, one of my friends asked the question is who’s nominating you!?

I immediately wanted to respond this isn’t about me. But I didn’t. I knew the feeling I had but I didn’t know how to express it.

Today, I shared it with a friend and asked if he’s under 30. He said

I am now the enviable age of 30. I appreciate it! but happy to live a life of anonymity. 

What he said was what I was looking to say. A few years ago I wanted to be in the spotlight everywhere. Today, I don’t love it. And I frequently find myself with disdain for people who search it out with little to show once they arrive. I want my friends that get it–for sure. And I’ll do whatever I can to help. But in this  moment I just don’t see a good reason to have/seek it.

It’s not like I’m not tempted.

As my friends go to Forbes30u30 of course I want to be involved and have fomo. 10 minutes ago I filled in some lines and had to sit for a moment and think if it’s what I wanted or if it was the fomo. It took 10 minutes for me to delete the app.

Anonymity is cool. But my friend is cooler. I’m glad to have cool people that see the world in so many dimensions. In times of confusion they can frequently be my north star.

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

