What would you do?

For the last 5 years I’ve been involved (volunteering my time) with a campaign that I once believed could change the trajectory of our nation. In the last few weeks, I’ve been particularly involved with them again and felt really challenged about how to be effective.

They recently made a hire that doesn’t take feedback well, struggles to manage and execute with transparency and lacks the standard of communication required for managing groups of 150/200+ people.

I had a call with this person today and it was probably the least productive call I’ve had in a long long time.

Immediately, I wanted to disengage from the organization in a way that I’ve never considered, but I love the executive director and want to help her succeed. I’m involved at the periphery and not at the helm of the ship. I’m okay with being at the periphery, but it means that I don’t get to make an impact on the larger things at play.

I want to make my impact in tech & business, but I want to make my life in upward mobility for my community and social progress for the world. I’ve battled the question of how to be effective in deploying my time and how to work with orgs for a long time. I think organizational politics, power dynamics and staff turnover create particular challenges.

 

What do you think? How do you consider these?

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

