There is nothing that can erase this day from my memory. The man falling from tower one. The plane ramming into tower two. The smoke stacks continuing for days. A city covered in smog. A neighbor who returned home late. The neighbor that never returned. 

New York on September 11, 2001 has imprinted on me. Brokenness is all I feel. 

The world has changed significantly because of 9/11 and because of how we responded to it. 

Looking back, I recognize military action, xenophobia/islampphobia and orientalism does not solve the problem.

 Looking forward I recall the idea, “Hate cannot defeat hate, but  love can conquer all.” 

My home. My people. I love you. ✊🏾

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

