Defining success is personal

For as long as I’ve known her my friend has been laser focused on leveling up. The need to ‘get there’ took her through an MBA, some work as a professor, buying a house and breaking well beyond six figures in corporate all before 28 years old. 

To many she’s made it. To her, she’s alone, unhappy and isolated. I think this is a common feeling for people who ‘make it’ early. My own experiences included. 

When I hit that feeling of isolation, I had to reexamine what I was working towards. Reading the top 5 wishes of the dying influenced a dramatic change in how I measured for/sought success:  

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me. 
  2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

We’ve all got our own lives to live, but that’s the point- live your life. Don’t be a Xerox of the person in the cubicle next to you. Aiming higher is all good and well, but consider this: 

  • When are you happiest? 
  • When are you most at peace? 
  • When do you feel fulfilled? 

We’re all different and here for different purposes. We can celebrate that, embracing the different journeys we’ve chosen to take and supporting eachother on the road there.  

Onwards & Upwards, Laddies:)

One thought on “Defining success is personal

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

