The story I shared with the TEDx community is now available online. The Uncertainty Paradox.

This talk was a quarter century of uncertainty. Failures and fears, distilled into a 17 minute jumble followed by 4 core values. Values which I can only recognize in hindsight. As I play it back, I find nothing short of a dozen things to do differently. But that’s okay. Being imperfect is aligned with the goal.

I believe that if we tell the stories of founders and successful people in a more honest way we make them more human, thereby relatable. Van Jones did this for me and I want to do it for others. Making leadership more accessible is a priority mission of mine. I thought I’d make myself the guinea pig. There are risks and dangers. I’m on the record for a lot of conversations and can get called out for a bunch. That’s okay. I try and keep folks around that have a good handle of themselves and don’t need to stick me with pins to feel good.

My goal isn’t to flatten myself into a 1-d tweetable and perfect person. It’s the opposite. I want to make the people around me more receptive to the reality of ourselves as stunning multi-dimensional bodies. Full of life, love and contradictions. This is what humanness truly is. Embracing it is a challenge.

My goal for this talk:

  • dive into my imperfection and show my cuts & the red blood with them
  • share how beautiful uncertainty in life can be
  • promote that life can/should change our success metrics
  • reaffirm the best thing to do is embrace change and dive head first into the unexpected

I hope I’ve achieved those. Again, this talk is about my flaws and making leaders seem more human. Leaders are just people. (Lightbulb: anybody can lead)

There are habits from my childhood that I haven’t given up. Sometimes I think I’m undeserving or ruin things when it’s too good. I have to remind myself everyday it’s one foot in front of the other that gets everyone across the finish line. What’s behind us doesn’t dictate what’s ahead of us.

I won’t stop failing. Life won’t stop being scary.

I’ll remain hopeful, connected and looking hopefully into the beauty and mystery of what lies ahead. Let’s do that together.

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

