My List of Good Books

I source a lot of books from the people around me. A friend reminded me of that recently and asked me to pay it forward. Here are a list of the books I’ve appreciated most over the last year and change.

Creativity/General Good Read

  • Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown
  • Angels & Demons, Dan Brown
  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, Gabrielle Zevin
  • The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man, JW Johnson
  • The Miseducation of a Negro, Carter G. Woodson
  • The Namesake, Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Unaccustomed Earth, Jhumpa Lahiri

Philosophy

  • The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
  • Reason for God, Tim Keller
  • Warrior of Light, Paulo Coelho
  • The Obstacle is the Way, Ryan Holiday [Stoicism]
  • Americanah, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Start with Why, Simon Sinek

Human Relations/Leadership

  • How to Make Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie
  • Blink, Malcolm Gladwell
  • Seeking Wisdom; From Darwin to Munger, Peter Bevelin
  • The Art of the Long View, Peter Schwartz

Autobiographies Worth Reading

  • Wings of Fire, Abdul Kalam
  • My Life in Leadership, Frances Hesselbein
  • The Autobiography of Malcolm X, Malcolm X & Alex Haley
  • The Story of My Experiments with Truth, Mahatma Gandhi
  • Long Walk to Freedom, Nelson Mandela
  • The Audacity of Hope, Barack Obama

My favorite authors: Dan Brown, Paulo Coelho, Abdul Kalam and I’ve got a special appreciation for Arundhati Roy and the rebel attitude she brings to the table.

What are your favorite books?

What do you think? Leave your thoughts

